Photo credit: Rita Crayon Huang

Photo credit: Rita Crayon Huang

FSG/ Macmillan

FSG/ Macmillan

Hi there! I’m Edith. I write novels for kids and dog lovers of all ages.

My debut middle grade novel SPIRIT’S KEY is now available for purchase at your favorite bookstore. Spirit’s Key is a mystery with a bit of magic for fans of Savvy and Because of Winn Dixie. 

Praise for SPIRIT’S KEY:

unnamedBooklist Starred Review: “Cohn has crafted a winsome protagonist with Spirit and a rich, unique setting in Bald Island. Themes of belonging, standing up for what is right, and wildlife conservation pervade this strong debut.” -Booklist

“An inventive story with a fresh setting and an upstanding moral compass.” – Kirkus Reviews

“A delightfully original plot . . . The island setting is unique, and the people that inhabit it are well worth getting to know. This book will strike a chord with fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn Dixie.” – School Library Journal

“The indomitable Sky, a fiercely loyal doggie companion even as a ghost, is a surprisingly rich character, and his guidance and comforting presence saves Spirit, literally and figuratively more than once. Fans of Ingrid Law’s quirky and elegant Savvy will find Spirit is an equally memorable protagonist seeking to turn her untamed powers into a true gift.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books 

“Spirit’s Key is a lovely work, tying together coming of age, heartache, hope, friendship and loss with just a touch of White Fang and magic….Spirit’s Key remains on my shortlist for best new Middle Grade titles of the year.”

“This delightful novel puts together a typical girl-and-her-dog story with a touch of magic, creating a strong debut for Cohn. The tween audience will find this animal story magical.” –Voya Magazine

SPIRIT’S KEY is a Top 2014 Mighty Girl Book for Teens and Tweens! 


Follow Edith!

facebook twitter image pinterest image-1 373013_280111928767841_1270804960_q

All content copyright Edith Cohn. Book jacket and cover art images by Eliza Wheeler Headshot photos by Rita Crayon Huang. Bald Island map by Julia Collard. Swag by Renee Combs.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Amanda Bostick

    I wanted to thank you for your wonderful book, my 8 year old daughter just read it. This was her first time starting a book and finishing it in one day! Well done! She has discovered the wonderful art of being consumed by a book, and yours was her first.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s